home about us personnel links contact us
 
 
   
     
   
     
   
     
 
 
E-MAIL
 
 
E-MAIL
 

LABORATORY CHEMISTRY OF NATURAL PRODUCTS

 

 

Head

Professor Vassya Bankova PhD, DSc, corr. member of BAS

Laboratory "Chemistry of Natural Products"
Institute of Organic Chemistry with Centre of Phytochemistry
Acad. G. Bonchev, Build. 9
Sofia 1113, Bulgaria


tel. +359 2 9606 149
fax +359 2 8700 225
e-mail: bankova@orgchm.bas.bg

Research

Laboratory Natural Product Chemistry has been a part of the Institute of Organic Chemistry since its opening in 1968. The lab was founded by the prominent Bulgarian chemists, Prof. I. Ognyanov, Prof. N. Mollov, Prof. N. Marekov. In 1977, it became a subdivision of the Centre of Phytochemistry, established within a joint project of the Bulgarian Government, UNDP and UNESCO. At present, the Lab is an active participant in the Southeast European Network on Phytochemistry and Chemistry of Natural Products for Green and Sustainable Growth” (SEE PhytoChemNet), created with the support of UNESCO.

Significant part of our research is dedicated to Bulgarian medicinal and aromatic plants (MAP), which are particularly diverse and numerous in our countr, and searching for possibilities to create innovative products based on MAP. Our interests are directed mainly to the families Asteraceae, Lamiaceae, Scrofulariaceae, Fabaceae, Ranunculaceae, Papaveraceae, Solanaceae, Liliaceae, Zygophylaceae, Rosaceae, Apiaceae. Our research is focused on alkaloids, flavonoids and other phenolics, triterpenic saponins, sesquiterpene lactones, essential oils and other biologically active compounds. An important part of our effort is the work on standardization of Bulgarian medicinal plants and extracts thereof. Our aim is to develop modern reliable methods of qualitative and quantitative analysis of the active components for quality control. Also, we are on search for new biologically active compounds from unexplored biological subjects, such as Bulgarian endemic plants, mushrooms, propolis, etc. We are interested mainly in antibacterial, antiviral and antioxidant substances. In both directions we work in close collaboration with biologists and pharmacologists. We also collaborate with colleagues from different countries: Germany, Greece, Macedonia, Mongolia, Serbia, Spain, Turkey, Switzerland etc.

Our major projects at present are on endemic Bulgarian medicinal plant species, search for natural products active against bee pathogens, synthesis of biologically active chalcones.

 

Personnel

NAME

ROOM

PHONE

E-MAIL

Head
Prof. DSc Vassya Bankova, corr. member of BAS

510

9606-149
Assoc. Prof. Stefan Philipov, PhD 503 9606-194 philipov@orgchm.bas.bg
Assoc. Prof. Milka Todorova, PhD 518 9606-144 todorova@orgchm.bas.bg
Assoc. Prof. Antoaneta Trendafilova, PhD 518 9606-144  trendaf@orgchm.bas.bg
Assoc. Prof. Kalina Alipieva, PhD 507 9606-137 alipieva@orgchm.bas.bg
Assoc. Prof. Milena Popova, PhD 510 9606-149 popova@orgchm.bas.bg
Assist. Prof. Boryana Trusheva, PhD 510 9606-149 bobi_tru@orgchm.bas.bg
Assist. Prof. Kalina Danova, PhD 518 9606-141 k_danova@abv.bg
Assist. Prof. Tsvetelina Doncheva, PhD 503 9606-194 tsvety@orgchm.bas.bg
Assist. Nadezhda Kostova 519 9606-148 kostova@orgchm.bas.bg
Assist. Viktoria Genova 518 9606-144 vgenova@orgchm.bas.bg
Assist. Angel Konakchiev, PhD 519 9606-148 angel@orgchm.bas.bg
Chemist Stoyan Parushev 514 9606-142 parushev@orgchm.bas.bg
Chemist Gabriela Yordanova 503 9606-194 gabii@orgchm.bas.bg
Techn. chemist Tzvetinka Gurova 507 9606-137 -


Copyright ©2012 Institute of Organic Chemistry with Centre of Phytochemistry, Bulgarian Academy of Science. All rights reserved.
eXTReMe Tracker